Sine Die Special Session – all about maps

Last Wednesday, the Special Session of the Georgia General Assembly concluded with the adoption of new maps for the U.S. Congress, Georgia Senate and House, as well as the Gwinnett County Board of Commissioners and School Board. While the process must strictly follow Federal guidelines with regard to the Voting Rights Act as well as the principal of one person one vote, it remains a political process as well. Most anticipate a legal challenge to the newly adopted maps, however, I believe those leading this year’s process did so openly and in compliance with law. I anticipate and hope that any challenge will validate the new maps.

The new map for Georgia’s 14 Congressional districts (Georgia gains one new Congressman) passed and await Governor Deal’s signature. You may view the new statewide Congressional map here and a detailed view of the metro Atlanta Congressional districts is here.  Maps for the State House and State Senate passed and have been signed into law. These maps will take effect in January of 2013.

I have created a detailed Google Map of the new District 106 that I currently and hope to continue representing. The new district loses several precincts west of Killian Hill Road as well as one of the Brookwood precincts and picks up new precincts in Lawrenceville, Grayson, and Loganville.

For those of you in the current House District 106, I will be your representative until December 31, 2012. Please help introduce me to friends and associates that live or operate businesses in the new portions of the 106th. One way of doing that is by  or others that may have an interest.

The only other item that passed both the House and Senate was a ratification of a gas tax freeze requested by Governor Deal.  A proposed change in the date of a vote on a 1% sales tax for transportation was not voted on.  Just as they did last Session with regard to the HOPE and Tax Reform legislation, Georgia’s leadership – Governor Deal and Speaker Ralston – listened to members of the legislature and citizens and rather than attempt to strong arm measures through, demonstrated great leadership in representing our state.

At the local level, I offer my congratulations to Grayson Mayor Jim Hinkle and Council Members Allison Wilkerson-Rooks and Katie Mitchell on their unopposed reelection. In Snellville, I am proud to congratulate new Council Members-Elect Dave Emanuel,  Bobby Howard, and Diane Krause – all unopposed! There will be contested elections in Lawrenceville and Loganville. I encourage you to engage and participate in local elections – their impact on our day to day lives is much greater than many imagine.

Finally, thank you for giving me the honor to serve you in the Legislature. I will be running for reelection next year and I hope I will continue to earn your support.

I encourage you to contact me with any comments or questions you have about the legislation being considered at the state capitol.  Now that we are out of Session, you may reach me at 404-966-5804 or via email at

As always, I also ask for your continued support. Please click this link and contribute $20 online today.

Thank you,


Brett Harrell


Links to maps passed during the Special Session 

I voted in support of each of these maps that passed and have been sent to the Governor for his signature.

 U. S. Congressional Map – Metro Area

 Georgia Senate Map – Metro Area

 Georgia House Map – Metro Area

 Gwinnett County Board of Commissioners Map