Harrell now Vice Chair Regulated Industries / Secretary Ways & Means

For Immediate Release
Thursday, June 11, 2015

Rep. Brett Harrell Named Vice Chairman of Regulated Industries Committee and Secretary of Ways and Means Committee

ATLANTA – The Georgia House of Representatives’ Committee on Assignments named State Representative Brett Harrell (R-Snellville) as the Vice Chairman of the House Regulated Industries Committee as well as Secretary of the Ways & Means Committee.  Rep. Harrell currently serves as Vice Chairman of the Budget and Fiscal Affairs Oversight Committee and a member of the Transportation Committee.

“I am pleased to receive this opportunity to serve the citizens of this state in these expanded leadership roles on Regulated Industries and Ways and Means,” said Rep. Harrell. “I sincerely appreciate Speaker Ralston and the Committee on Assignments for allowing me to serve in areas of great interest to my constituents.”

The House Regulated Industries Committee, chaired by Rep. Howard Maxwell (R-Dallas), considers legislation dealing with business and occupational licensure as well as alcohol and tobacco. The Ways and Means Committee, chaired by Rep. Jay Powell (R-Camilla), is the chief tax writing committee in the General Assembly.

The House Committee on Assignments, chaired by House Speaker David Ralston (R-Blue Ridge), is responsible for making all House committee assignments for the members of the Georgia House of Representatives.

In addition to the new assignments, Representative Harrell will continue serving as Vice Chair of the Alcohol and Tobacco Subcommittee of Regulated Industries and Chair of the Ad Valorem Tax Subcommittee of Ways and Means.  Former Transportation Chair Jay Roberts has also tasked Harrell to serve as Vice Chair of the House Transportation Special Subcommittee on Truck Weights.

For a complete list of all House Committee assignments, please click here.


Representative Brett Harrell represents the citizens of District 106, which includes portions of Snellville, Grayson, Lawrenceville, and Loganville in Gwinnett County. He was elected to the House of Representatives in 2010.